Royal Rhymes and Rounds The King's Singers

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Signum Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Choral

Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 48 $ 15,00
  • Henry VIII (1491 - 1547):
  • 1Pastime with Good Company, "The Kynges Balade" (The King's Ballad)01:53
  • William Cornysh (1465 - 1523):
  • 2Ah, Robin, gentle Robin02:26
  • 3Blow thy horn, hunter02:23
  • Henry VIII (1491 - 1547):
  • 4It is to me a ryght gret joy01:33
  • 5Hey Trolly Lolly Lo!03:56
  • Ellis Gibbons (1573 - 1603):
  • 6Long live fair Oriana02:39
  • Orlando Gibbons (1583 - 1625):
  • 7The Silver Swan (Round)02:00
  • 8The silver swanne01:46
  • John Hilton (1599 - 1657):
  • 9Fair Oriana, beauty's Queen02:21
  • John Mundy (1555 - 1630):
  • 10Lightly she whipped o'er the dales03:11
  • John Dowland (1563 - 1626):
  • 11Book of Songs, Book 2: Flow, my tears01:37
  • John Bennet (1575 - 1614):
  • 12Madrigalls: Weep, O Mine Eyes02:44
  • Thomas Weelkes (1576 - 1623):
  • 13As Vesta was, from Latmos hill descending03:19
  • Walter Parratt (1841 - 1924):
  • 14The Triumph of Victoria02:33
  • Hubert Parry (1848 - 1918):
  • 15Who can dwell with greatness03:07
  • Edward Elgar (1857 - 1934):
  • 16To her beneath whose steadfast star04:51
  • Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976): Gloriana, Op. 53:
  • 17No. 1. Time01:51
  • 18No. 2. Concord02:25
  • 19No. 3. Time and Concord01:46
  • 20No. 4. Country Girls01:17
  • 21No. 5. Rustics and Fishermen01:00
  • 22No. 6. Final Dance of Homage02:20
  • Paul Drayton (1944):
  • 23A Rough Guide to the Royal Succession (It's just one damn King after another … )12:48
  • Total Runtime01:05:46

Info zu Royal Rhymes and Rounds

The recording was to celebrate the 2012 Diamond Jubilee, The King's Singers present a selection of works from the past 500 years written in honour of the great Monarchs of Britain.

Starting with works for (and in some cases by) Henry VIII, the programme covers the Elizabethan 'Triumphs of Oriana' by composers such as Gibbons, Mundy and Dowland; a very Victorian selection of dedicatory works by Elgar, Parry and Parratt; choral arrangements from the opera 'Glorianna' by Benjamin Britten; and a new piece by Paul Drayton that comically pens 'A Rough Guide to the Royal Succession'. Drayton is perhaps best known to fans of The King's Singers as the composer of their much-loved encore work Masterpiece.

"Premier English a cappella group provides its own celebrations in Jubilee Year" (New Zealand Herald)

„Music for and by kings and queens: that's the focus of this new King's collection. King Henry VIII is the first regent featured, his own Pastime with good companie kicking off the recital. The anonymous Hey, trolly lolly lo! is positively lubricious, a saucy rugby song avant la lettre. Is it a little primly delivered by the King's Singers? Possibly. But the sound this ensemble makes is beautifully balanced, and you could take dictation from their impeccable enunciation. These are considerable benefits.

Queen Elizabeth I's reign yields more serious content, in the shape of John Bennet's Dowland tribute Weep, O mine eyes, whose melancholy and desire for oblivion are sweetly rendered in the King's Singers' performance. Of the three pieces adulating Queen Victoria, Elgar's 1899 part-song To her beneath whose steadfast star is the most interesting. It forms part of a collection featuring 13 composers, and Elgar conducted it himself at the queen's 80th birthday breakfast.

A fresh-toned, lively account of the 'Choral Dances' from Britten's 1953 opera Gloriana marks the reign of the current monarch. A new commission, Paul Drayron's "A Rough Guide to the Royal Succession (It's just one damn King after another.. .)" concludes the programme. It's droll, but at 12-plus minutes perhaps better experienced live than on record.

Overall, this disc from the King's Singers is a notably intelligent, enjoyable Jubilee offering.“ (BBC Music Magazine, Terry Blain)

The King's Singers

The King's Singers
Acclaimed worldwide for their virtuosity, life-affirming energy and charm, The King’s Singers are in global demand. Their work, synonymous with the very best in vocal ensemble performance, appeals to a vast international audience. Performing to hundreds of thousands of people each season, the group tours regularly to Europe, North and South America, Asia and Australasia. Instantly recognisable for their immaculate intonation, vocal blend, diction and incisive timing, The King’s Singers are consummate entertainers.

The group’s repertoire has evolved to become one of the most diverse and compelling imaginable. The King’s Singers have commissioned over 200 works, including landmark pieces from leading contemporary composers including Luciano Berio, György Ligeti, Sir James MacMillan, Krzysztof Penderecki, Toru Takemitsu, Sir John Tavener, Gabriela Lena Frank and Eric Whitacre. They have also commissioned arrangements of everything from jazz standards to pop chart hits, explored medieval motets and Renaissance madrigals, and encouraged young composers to write new scores.

In addition to performing to capacity audiences and creating highly regarded and much-loved recordings, The King’s Singers share their artistry through numerous workshops and masterclasses around the world. In June 2017, the group will host their inaugural U.S. Summer School at DePauw University, Indiana and in July 2017 will return for their 3rd U.K. Summer School at Royal Holloway (part of the University of London) where they are also Ensemble in Residence. Among the work supported by The King’s Singers Foundation, A Carol for Christmas is a composition competition that seeks to encourage young and up-coming composers, giving the winners the chance for their piece to be performed in King’s College Chapel (Cambridge, UK).

Double Grammy® award-winning artists, the group were honoured in 2009 for their Signum Classics release, Simple Gifts, and again in 2012 for their contribution to Eric Whitacre’s Light and Gold album on Universal/Decca. Recently voted into Gramophone Hall of Fame, rave reviews and repeated sell-out concerts confirm that The King’s Singers remain one of the world’s finest vocal ensembles.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO