Cover Handel: Messiah

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: LSO Live

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Vocal

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • George Frideric Handel (1685 - 1759): Messiah: Part I:
  • 1Messiah: Part I, No 1. Sinfonia03:45
  • 2Messiah: Part I, No 2. Comfort Ye My People03:00
  • 3Messiah: Part I, No 3. Ev'ry Valley Shall Be Exalted03:34
  • 4Messiah: Part I, No 4. And the Glory of the Lord02:46
  • 5Messiah: Part I, No 5. Thus Saith the Lord01:30
  • 6Messiah: Part I, No 6. But Who May Abide the Day of His Coming?04:16
  • 7Messiah: Part I, No 7. And He Shall Purify02:21
  • 8Messiah: Part I, No 8. Behold, a Virgin Shall Conceive00:23
  • 9Messiah: Part I, No 9. O Thou That Tellest Good Tidings to Zion03:56
  • 10Messiah: Part I, No 9a. O Thou That Tellest Good Tidings to Zion01:43
  • 11Messiah: Part I, No 10. For, Behold, Darkness Shall Cover the Earth02:26
  • 12Messiah: Part I, No 11. The People That Walked In Darkness03:11
  • 13Messiah: Part I, No 12. For Unto Us a Child Is Born04:06
  • 14Messiah: Part I, No 13. Pifa03:08
  • 15Messiah: Part I, Nos 14a-16. There Were Shepherds Abiding In the Field01:54
  • 16Messiah: Part I, No 17. Glory to God01:39
  • 17Messiah: Part I, No 18. Rejoice Greatly, O Daughter of Zion04:39
  • 18Messiah: Part I, No 19. Then Shall the Eyes of the Blind00:27
  • 19Messiah: Part I, No 20. He Shall Feed His Flock Like a Shepherd04:58
  • 20Messiah: Part I, No 21. His Yoke Is Easy02:11
  • Messiah: Part II:
  • 21Messiah: Part II, No 22. Behold the Lamb of God03:33
  • 22Messiah: Part II, No 23. He Was Despised09:56
  • 23Messiah: Part II, No 24. Surely He Hath Borne Our Griefs02:20
  • 24Messiah: Part II, No 25. And With His Stripes We Are Healed02:41
  • 25Messiah: Part II, No 26. All We Like Sheep Have Gone Astray04:09
  • 26Messiah: Part II, No 27. All They That See Him Laugh Him to Scorn00:49
  • 27Messiah: Part II, No 28. He Trusted In God02:28
  • 28Messiah: Part II, No 29. Thy Rebuke Hath Broken His Heart02:27
  • 29Messiah: Part II, No 30. Behold, and See If There Be Any Sorrow01:27
  • 30Messiah: Part II, No 31. He Was Cut Off Out of the Land of the Living00:22
  • 31Messiah: Part II, No 32. But Thou Didst Not Leave His Soul In Hell02:29
  • 32Messiah: Part II, No 33. Lift Up Your Heads, O Ye Gates03:12
  • 33Messiah: Part II, No 34. Unto Which of the Angels Said He At Any Time00:15
  • 34Messiah: Part II, No 35. Let All the Angels of God Worship Him01:27
  • 35Messiah: Part II, No 36. Thou Art Gone Up On High03:22
  • 36Messiah: Part II, No 37. The Lord Gave the Word01:11
  • 37Messiah: Part II, No 38. How Beautiful Are the Feet02:26
  • 38Messiah: Part II, No 39. Their Sound Is Gone Out01:36
  • 39Messiah: Part II, No 40. Why Do the Nations So Furiously Rage Together?02:41
  • 40Messiah: Part II, No 41. Let Us Break Their Bonds Asunder01:43
  • 41Messiah: Part II, No 42. He That Dwelleth In Heaven00:16
  • 42Messiah: Part II, No 43. Thou Shalt Break Them02:06
  • 43Messiah: Part II, No 44. Hallelujah03:43
  • Messiah: Part III:
  • 44Messiah: Part III, No 45. I Know That My Redeemer Liveth06:01
  • 45Messiah: Part III, No 46. Since By Man Came Death02:19
  • 46Messiah: Part III, No 47. Behold, I Tell You a Mystery00:36
  • 47Messiah: Part III, No 48. The Trumpet Shall Sound08:38
  • 48Messiah: Part III, No 49. Then Shall Be Brought to Pass00:19
  • 49Messiah: Part III, No 50. O Death, Where Is Thy Sting?01:10
  • 50Messiah: Part III, No 51. But Thanks Be to God02:04
  • 51Messiah: Part III, No 52. If God Be for Us04:50
  • 52Messiah: Part III, No 53a. Worthy Is the Lamb That Was Slain03:28
  • 53Messiah: Part III, No 53b. Amen04:12
  • Total Runtime02:26:09

Info zu Handel: Messiah

With an outstanding solo quartet and a great chorus and orchestra, Davis leads a sterling performance that challenges the supremacy of his 1966 Philips recording of Messiah. Davis leads a dramatic performance; the famous "Hallelujah" chorus appropriately grand, the final "Amen" bristling with brazen energy, both sung with extraordinary tonal coloring and precise articulation by the chorus, which also shines in a lithe "He shall purify" and a vividly virtuoso "For unto us a child is born." Soprano Susan Gritton's solos are a delight, whether in the measured "Behold, a virgin shall conceive" or her exuberant "Rejoice greatly." The vocal purity of her "I know my redeemer liveth" makes this track a highlight. Alto Sara Mingardo's darker tones are especially moving in her arias and dramatic in "He was despised." The men are almost as good; Alistair Miles sonorous in the bass arias and Mark Padmore recovering nicely after a somewhat mannered "Evr'y valley." The LSO is in excellent form too, the strings expressive in the orchestral interludes and the brass shining brightly in the big choruses of Part III, where the tympani thwacks are startling in their power." (Dan Davis)

"... I would add the unflagging energy of the choral singing and its phenomenal accuracy: the members of Tenebrae ... are clearly all top musical athletes." (International Record Review)

"The choral singing, from Tenebrae, is jaw-droppingly beautiful" (The Guardian)

"a Tremendous new recording" (BBC Radio 3)

"this one [recording[ definitely belongs in the hall of fame ... The musicality in this set is terrific, the Tenebrae Choir a marvel to behold, and the LSO playing like they never have. The soloists are outstanding. The DVD is a bonus, with eleven numbers from the concert performance, plus an interview with Davis ... This is a marvelous set by a man who knows the work perhaps better than anyone, and can get to the heart and soul of Handel's celebrated score. Bravo!" (Audiophile Audition)

Susan Gritton, soprano
Sara Mingardo, alto
Mark Padmore, tenor
Alastair Miles, bass
Sir Colin Davis, conductor
London Symphony Orchestra
Tenebrae Choir
Nigel Short, choir director

Digitally remastered

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Booklet für Handel: Messiah

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO