Chick Corea: The Montreux Years (Live) Chick Corea

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • 1Fingerprints (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 2001) (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 2001)07:51
  • 2Bud Powell (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 2010) (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 2010)13:41
  • 3Quartet No. 2, Pt. 1 (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 1988) (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 1988)11:46
  • 4Interlude (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 2004) (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 2004)04:31
  • 5Who's Inside the Piano (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 1993) (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 1993)04:41
  • 6Dignity (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 2001) (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 2001)07:14
  • 7America (Continents, Pt. 4) [Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 2006] (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 2006)10:07
  • 8New Waltz (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 1993) (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 1993)14:10
  • 9Trinkle Tinkle (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 1981) (Live - Montreux Jazz Festival 1981)10:19
  • Total Runtime01:24:20

Info zu Chick Corea: The Montreux Years (Live)

This important live recording from 1981 features the great pianist with a stunning group: Joe Henderson on tenor saxophone, Gary Peacock on bass, and Roy Haynes on drums. Haynes worked with Corea on many prior occasions, and Henderson was about to collaborate with him on the Griffith Park albums of the early ’80s, but this is the first time the three appear together. Peacock’s presence is an additional delight. The probing bassist contributes the multi-layered, magnificent “Up, Up and….”

Three of Corea’s compositions here — “Hairy Canary,” “Folk Song,” and “Slippery When Wet” — would later wind up as bonus tracks on Stretch’s 1994 reissue of the 1981 CD Three Quartets. In addition, there are valuable renditions of two dense and challenging Corea tunes, “Psalm” and “Quintet #2,” along with two standards: Thelonious Monk’s “Trinkle, Tinkle” and Cole Porter’s “So in Love.” The latter culminates in a four-minute Haynes drum solo.

"Overall, the record is essential for fans of any and all of the four musicians involved." (AllMusic)

The Montreux Jazz Festival takes place for two weeks every summer in Switzerland, on the shores of Lake Geneva. Created in 1967 by Claude Nobs, the Montreux Jazz Festival has become over the years an essential event, generating fantastic stories and legendary performances. In its 50 year plus history, Montreux has hosted iconic performances by artists including Nina Simone, Miles Davis, Aretha Franklin, Ella Fitzgerald, Marvin Gaye, Prince, Leonard Cohen, David Bowie, Elton John and Stevie Wonder.

Chick Corea, piano
Joe Henderson, tenor saxophone
Gary Peacock, double bass
Roy Haynes, drums

Digitally remastered

Keine Biografie vorhanden.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO