The Prophet Speaks Van Morrison

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • 1Gonna Send You Back To Where I Got You From04:42
  • 2Dimples05:33
  • 3Got To Go Where The Love Is04:23
  • 4Laughin And Clownin05:31
  • 55am Greenwich Mean Time05:37
  • 6Gotta Get You Off My Mind03:44
  • 7Teardrops06:00
  • 8I Love The Life I Live03:35
  • 9Worried Blues / Rollin And Tumblin06:22
  • 10Ain't Gonna Moan No More06:16
  • 11Love Is A Five Letter Word03:46
  • 12Love Is Hard Work04:29
  • 13Spirit Will Provide04:03
  • 14The Prophet Speaks04:55
  • Total Runtime01:08:56

Info zu The Prophet Speaks

Bei “The Prophet Speaks” handelt es sich um kein geringeres als das 40. Studioalbum des gebürtigen Nordiren. Es folgt einer Reihe von hochgelobten Platten (“Roll With The Punches”, “Versatile”, “Keep Me Singing” etc.), von denen jede sich noch ein Stück intensiver mit den Musikstilen, die Van sein ganzes Leben lang inspiriert haben, auseinandersetzte als ihre Vorgängerinnen. Blues, Vocal Jazz, Soul, R&B – Van beherrscht sie alle und scheut sich auch auf “The Prophet Speaks” nicht, das mithilfe von 14 bekannten und unbekannten Tracks zum Besten zu geben. Hier nimmt er unter anderem eine Reihe von unbestreitbaren Klassikern wie John Lee Hooker, Sam Cooke und Solomon Burke auf und macht sie unverwechselbar zu seinen eigenen. Nebst diesen Neuinterpretationen hält “The Prophet Speaks” aber auch sechs phänomenale Van Morrison-Kompositionen bereit.

“Van the Man” selbst sagt über das Album: “It was important for me to get back to recording new music as well as doing some of the blues material that has inspired me from the beginning. Writing songs and making music is what I do and working with great musicians makes it all the more enjoyable.” Das kann man auch als Hörer/in unterschreiben, denn für “The Prophet Speaks” arbeitete Van mit Joey DeFrancesco (dem Mitverantwortlichen für sein letztes Album “You’re Driving Me Crazy”) sowie mit Dan Wilson an der Gitarre, Michael Ode am Schlagzeug und Troy Roberts am Tenorsaxophon zusammen.

"Unterstützt wird Morrison wieder von DeFrancesco und dessen Band, die der Platte einen der Musik angemessenen Retrosound verpassen. So swingt die Musik völlig zeitlos über die 14 Songs, als gäbe es kein Gestern und kein Morgen. (...) Ein würdiges 40. Album von ›Van The Man‹!" (Good Times)

Van Morrison
One of music’s true originals Van Morrison’s unique and inspirational musical legacy is rooted in postwar Belfast.

Born in 1945 Van heard his Shipyard worker father’s collection of blues, country and gospel early in life.

Feeding off musical greats such as Hank Williams, Jimmie Rodgers, Muddy Waters, Mahalia Jackson and Leadbelly he was a travelling musician at 13 and singing, playing guitar and sax, in several bands, before forming Them in 1964.

Making their name at Belfast’s Maritime Club Them soon established Van as a major force in the British R&B scene. Morrison’s matchless vocal and songwriting talents produced instant classics such as the much covered ‘Gloria’ and ‘Here Comes The Night’.

Those talents found full astonishing range in Van’s solo career.

After working with Them’s New York producer Bert Berns on beautiful Top 40 pop hit ‘Brown Eyed Girl’ (1967), Morrison moved to another realm.

Recorded over 3 days with legendary jazz musicians Astral Weeks (1968) is a still singular album combining street poetry, jazz improvisation, Celtic invocation and Afro Celtic Blues wailing.

Morrison would weave these and myriad other influences into the albums that followed in quick succession.

Reflecting on new life in America on the joyous Sinatra soul of Moondance (1970) and the country inflected Tupelo Honey (1971) he summoned old spiritual and ancestral life in the epic St Dominic’s Preview (1972) closer track Listen To The Lion.

Double live album Too Late To Stop Now (1973) highlighted Morrison’s superlative performing and bandleader skills. Mapping out a richly varied musical course throughout the 70s he shone among an all-star cast including Bob Dylan and Muddy Waters on The Band’s Last Waltz.

Indeed, borne of his Irish Showband instincts, the magic of the live performance has been a consistent feature of Morrison’s career.

Settling back into life in the UK in 1980 he released Common One an album centring on Summertime In England an extraordinary invocation of literary, sensual and spiritual pleasure the song would often become a thrilling improvised centrepiece to his live shows.

Steering his own course throughout the 80s on albums such as No Guru, No Method, No Teacher he claimed Celtic roots with The Chieftains on Irish Heartbeat. Teaming with Georgie Fame brought new impetus to his live show while Avalon Sunset saw him back in the album and single charts by the decades end.

Van Morrison continued to advance on his status as a game- changing artist through the 90s and into the 21st century.

Awards and accolades - a Brit, an OBE, an Ivor Novello, 6 Grammys, honourary doctorates from Queen’s University Belfast and the University of Ulster, entry into The Rock n Roll Hall of Fame and the French Ordres Des Artes Et Des Lettres - attested to the international reach of Van’s musical art.

Yet there was never any suggestion that Morrison, one of the most prolific recording artists and hardest working live performers of his era, would ever rest on his laurels.

Collaborations with, among others, John Lee Hooker, Ray Charles, Lonnie Donegan, Mose Allison and Tom Jones confirmed the breadth of his musical reach.

Morrison’s visionary songwriting and mastery of many genres continued to shine on albums celebrating and re-exploring his blues, jazz, skiffle and country roots.

The influence of the musical journey that began back in Post War Belfast stretches across the generations, and Morrison’s questing hunger insures that the journey itself continues.

Constantly reshaping his musical history in live performance, Morrison reclaimed Astral Weeks on 2009’s album Live At The Hollywood Bowl.

The subtitle of Van Morrison's latest album, Born to Sing: No Plan B, indicates the power that music still holds for this living legend. "No Plan B means this is not a rehearsal," says Morrison. "That’s the main thing—it’s not a hobby, it’s real, happening now, in real time."

With one of the most revered catalogues in music history and his unparalleled talents as composer, singer and performer Morrison’s past achievements loom large. But, as throughout his extraordinary career, how that past informs his future achievements and still stirs excitement and keen anticipation.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO