Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Motown / Universal

Genre: R&B

Subgenre: Soul

Interpret: Various Artists

Komponist: Charlie Smalls, Nickolas Ashford, Valerie Simpson, Quincy Jones, Anthony Jackson, Luther Vandross. John Lennon

Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • 1Main Title (Overture)02:34
  • 2Overture02:00
  • 3The Feeling That We Have03:31
  • 4Can I Go On?01:56
  • 5Glinda's Theme01:10
  • 6He's The Wizard / March Of The Munchkins04:12
  • 7Soon As I Get Home / Home04:01
  • 8You Can't Win03:14
  • 9Ease On Down The Road #103:55
  • 10What Would I Do If I Could Feel?02:18
  • 11Ease On Down The Road # 201:31
  • 12(I'm A) Mean Ole Lion02:25
  • 13Ease On Down The Road # 301:26
  • 14Poppy Girls03:29
  • 15Be A Lion04:04
  • 16End Of The Yellow Brick Road01:01
  • 17Emerald City Sequence06:43
  • 18So You Wanted To See The Wizard02:52
  • 19Is This What Feeling Gets? (Dorothy's Theme)03:15
  • 20Don't Nobody Bring Me No Bad News03:04
  • 21A Brand New Day07:49
  • 22Believe In Yourself (Dorothy)02:55
  • 23The Good Witch Glinda01:09
  • 24Believe In Yourself02:15
  • 25Home04:06
  • 26Slide Some Oil To Me / Now Watch Me Dance02:51
  • Total Runtime01:19:46

Info zu The Wiz

Soundtrack of the Original Motion Picture: 26 songs, 2 records. Michael Jackson and Diana Ross at their best.

„Director Sidney Lumet's big-budget film version of The Wiz, an updated musical treatment of The Wizard of Oz with songs by Charlie Smalls, is not remembered as one of the great movie musicals. But you wouldn't know that from this elaborate double-LP soundtrack album, on which Smalls' Broadway score is augmented by music written by producer Quincy Jones, Nickolas Ashford & Valerie Simpson, and Luther Vandross. Jones organized a studio band of New York jazz veterans, including Toots Thielemans, Eric Gale, Michael Brecker, and Richard Tee, and of course the cast provides spectacular vocal firepower in the persons of Diana Ross and Michael Jackson. The result was a Top 40, gold-selling album paced by a Top 40 single of 'Ease on Down the Road' by Ross and Jackson (outperforming the 1975 version by Consumer Rapport), as well as the chart single 'You Can't Win,' by Jackson. Much comparison was made between the vocal (not to mention the facial) resemblance between Ross and Jackson; here's the only place to hear them together.“ (William Ruhlmann, AMG)

Diana Ross, vocals, harmonica
Michael Jackson, vocals
Nipsey Russell, vocals
Theresa Merrit, vocals
Lena Horne, vocals
Mabel King, vocals
Richard Pryor, vocals
Ted Ross, vocals
Thelma Carpenter, vocals
Eric Gale, guitar
Hugh McCracken, guitar
Jeff Mironov, guitar
Steve Khan guitar
Carmen Mastren, banjo
Toots Thielemans, harmonica
Richard Tee, piano
Michael Brecker, tenor saxophone
Jerome Richardson, saxophone
Favid Foster, keyboards, synthesizer
Dave Grusin, keyboards
Derek Smith, keyboards
Dick Hyman, keyboards
Tommy Bridwell, keyboards
Bhen Lanzaroni, keyboards
Jerry Peters, keyboards
Kenny Ascher, keyboards
Leon Pendarvis, keyboards
Quincy Jones, keyboards
Richard Tee, keyboards
Rob Mounsey, keyboards
Warren Bernhardt, keyboards
Pat Rebillot, keyboards
Ernie Hayes, keyboards
Bob James, keyboards
Paul Griffin, keyboards
Frank Owens, keyboards
Michael Boddicker, synthesizer
Grady Tate, drums
Harvey Mason, drums
Steve Gadd, drums, percussion
Chris Parker, drums
Dave Charles, percussion
David Friedman, percussion
Bill Lavorgna, percussion
George Devens, percussion
Dave Carey, percussion
Victoria Berdy, percussion
Artie Jenkins, percussion
Mel Lewis, percussion
Paulinho Da Costa, percussion
Phil Kraus, percussion
Ralph MacDonald, percussion
Bill Summers, percussion
Steve Little, percussion
Sue Evans, percussion

Recorded at A&R Recording Studios, New York, New York
Engineered by Larry Dahlstrom, Skip Saylor, Bruce Swedien
Produced by Quincy Jones, Tom Bahler

Digitally remastered

A compilation dedicated to funk and pre – zouk period, which has never been documented before. It is compilated by specialists of the genre: Julien Achard (Digger's Digest) and Nicolas SKLIRIS (ex-Superfly Records).

After the success of Kouté Jazz, Heavenly Sweetness comes back with a dancefloor but not jazz compilation, enough to move your feet at through the whole summer ! 13 disco, boogie and Zouk tracks recorded in the 80’s in the West Indies.

The advantage of this selection is precisely that it reveals a broader spectrum than the zouk music style that are badly defined. Most of the tracks, were not much broadcasted even if interpreted by some big names in Caribbean music (Pierre-Edouard Decimus / Patrick St. Eloi / Eddy La Viny). They were too fast classified as Zouk. These Tracks reveal this will of singularity, this merger between traditional and other rhythms genres (funk, disco, afro-beat, Latin Brazilian ...), with the addition of new instruments such as synthesizers and drums machine in the creative process.

In many zouk’s albums, this period often included one or even several, tracks that were qualified as "proto-zouk" and "funky-zouk" or the "boogie-zouk" to emphasize the fusion of genres . But these tracks have remained unknown to the general public because only the "hits" were played on the radio, dance floors (the famous "tan" or “zouk”), clubs and bus.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO