Prospect Hill: The American Songster Omnibus Dom Flemons

Cover Prospect Hill: The American Songster Omnibus

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • 1Til The Seas Run Dry03:00
  • 2Polly Put The Kettle On02:19
  • 3But They Got It Fixed Right On02:47
  • 4Have I Stayed Away Too Long?03:15
  • 5Georgia Drumbeat02:50
  • 6I Can't Do It Anymore02:17
  • 7Sonoran Church Two-Step02:40
  • 8Too Long (I've Been Gone)02:53
  • 9Marching Up Prospect Hill01:27
  • 10It's A Good Thing02:45
  • 11Grotto Beat02:20
  • 12Hot Chicken03:19
  • 13San Francisco Baby03:31
  • 14My Money Runs Out03:04
  • 15Big Head Joe's March01:21
  • 16Milwaukee Blues02:41
  • 17Clock On The Wall04:00
  • 18Keep On Truckin'02:46
  • 19Hot Chicken (Alternate Version)03:04
  • 20Have I Stayed Away Too Long? (Alternate Version)02:52
  • 21Going Backward Up The Mountain01:26
  • 22Til The Seas Run Dry (Alternate Version)03:04
  • 23What Got Over01:00
  • 24Wingtips00:52
  • 25Going Backward Up The Mountain (Instrumental)01:26
  • 26Sugar Dance01:26
  • 27Grotto Beat (Instrumental)02:11
  • 28The Songster Arrives02:48
  • 29Georgia Drumbeat (Instrumental)02:48
  • 30Clock On The Wall (Instrumental)04:04
  • 31Hot Chicken (Instrumental)03:20
  • 32Too Long (I've Been Gone) (Instrumental)02:54
  • 33What Got Over (Instrumental)00:57
  • 34The Grand Manifesto02:05
  • 35Blue Butterfly02:50
  • Total Runtime01:28:22

Info zu Prospect Hill: The American Songster Omnibus

Dom Flemons is known as “The American Songster.” The talented multi-instrumentalist was a member of the Grammy®-winning Carolina Chocolate Drops from their inception in 2005 through 2013, and has performed with artists including Guy Davis, Old Crow Medicine Show, and Taj Mahal.

His third solo album, Prospect Hill, was released in 2014 after Flemons spent “many days listening to records, 78s and CDs, discovering new genres of music in record stores all across the country and the world.” That seminal release returns in an incredible, expanded edition.

"The American Songster Omnibus is a double album and digital collection containing a three-part journey: the original album; the 2015 Record Store Day 9-track EP What Got Over (originally vinyl only, making its first appearance; and a third section, The Drum Major Instinct, a set of 12 previously unissued instrumental tracks that “presents the vision of the Phoenix rising from the ashes, morphing into a butterfly, and seeing the world with a new set of eyes.” (Prospect Hill)

With extensive liner notes from Flemons and his wife, Vania Kinard, matched by extraordinary photography from Timothy Duffy (whose works are in the permanent collections of the National Gallery of Art, National Museum of African American History and Culture, the New Orleans Museum of Art, among others), this new collection truly showcases Flemons’ artistry, talents, and dedication to deserving the moniker “The American Songster.”

So, take the journey, whether it’s your first time, or a return trip with new sights and sounds on Prospect Hill: The American Songster Omnibus.

Dom Flemons

Dom Flemons
is the "American Songster," pulling from traditions of old-time folk music to create new sounds. Having performed music professionally since 2005, he has played live for over one million people just within the past three years. As part of the Carolina Chocolate Drops, which he co-founded with Rhiannon Giddens and Justin Robinson, he has played at a variety of festivals spanning from the Newport Folk Festival to Bonnaroo, in addition to renowned venues such as the Grand Ole Opry.

Raised in Phoenix, Arizona, Dom’s involvement with music began by playing percussion in his high school band. After picking up the guitar and harmonica as a teenager, he began to play in local coffee houses and became a regular performer on the Arizona folk music scene. Dom wrote his own songs and produced 25 albums of singer-songwriters and slam poets in the Phoenix area, including six albums of his own, during this time. He took a brief break from playing music in order to pursue slam poetry (he majored in English at Northern Arizona University) and performed in two national poetry slams in 2002 and 2003. Aside from exploring slam poetry, he spent his early adulthood listening to records and discovering a love of folk music, blues, jazz, jug band music, country music and ‘50s rock ‘n’ roll. Dom became interested in folk musicians such as Phil Ochs, Dave Van Ronk and Mike Seeger, as well as musicians such as Mississippi John Hurt, Howlin’ Wolf, Hank Williams, Chuck Berry and Carl Perkins. After stepping away from the slam poetry scene, he rekindled his interest in music, this time focusing on the old-time blues music of the pre-WWII era.

A multi-instrumentalist, Dom plays banjo, guitar, harmonica, fife, bones, bass drum, snare drum and quills, in addition to singing. He says that he incorporates his background in percussion to his banjo playing. Dom’s banjo repertoire includes not only clawhammer but also tenor and three-finger styles of playing. He first picked up the instrument when he borrowed a five-string banjo from a friend who had removed the instrument’s fifth string. As a founding member of the Carolina Chocolate Drops, an African-American string band, Dom was able to explore his interest in bringing traditional music to new audiences. The band won a GRAMMY for its 2011 album Genuine Negro Jig and was nominated for its most recent album, Leaving Eden, in 2012.

Dom says he would like to use the traditional forms of music he has heard and immersed himself in over the years to create new soundscapes that generate interest in old-time folk music. Focusing very much on creating music that is rooted in history but taking a contemporary approach, Dom hopes to reexamine what traditional music can become.

In July 2014, Dom released his third solo record with Music Maker Relief Foundation, and his first since leaving the Carolina Chocolate Drops. Prospect Hill finds Flemons digging deeply into ragtime, Piedmont blues, spirituals, southern folk music, string band music, jug band music, fife and drum music, and ballads idioms with showmanship and humor, reinterpreting the music to suit 21st century audiences. He was featured on NPR's Fresh Air with Terry Gross and his new album has received praise from The Boston Globe, Paste Magazine, Living Blues Magazine, and more.

Booklet für Prospect Hill: The American Songster Omnibus

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO